Skip to main content

Editorial Cartoon

Your opinion counts — exercise your First Amendment right!

The Mountain Mail welcomes letters to the editor. Letters should be typed, if possible.

We endeavor to print all letters received, but it is easier for us to do so if they are legible and fewer than 500 words. Letters substantially longer than that may be pared at the editor’s discretion. In addition, letters will be edited for grammar, spelling, clarity and libel. Upon request, a letter writer may see the edited version of the letter before publication.

All letters must be signed. Bring to 125 E. Second St. or mail to The Mountain Mail, P.O. Box 189, Salida, CO 81201 or e-mail

Contacting Officials

  • Updated

Federal government

President Joe Biden — The White House, Washington, DC 20500; 202-456-1111. Email:

U.S. Rep. Doug Lamborn (5th District) — 2402 Rayburn House, Washington, DC 20515; 202-225-4422. Colorado Springs office: 1125 Kelly Johnson Blvd., Suite 330, Colorado Springs, CO 80920; 719-520-0055. Buena Vista office (no mail delivery): 415 E. Main St.; 719-520-0055. Website:

U.S. Sen. Michael Bennet — 261 Russell Senate Office Building, Washington, DC 20510; 202-224-5852. Arkansas River office: 129 W. B St., Pueblo, CO 81003; 719-542-7550. Website:

U.S. Sen. John Hickenlooper — 354 Russell Senate Office Building, Washington, DC 20510, 202-224-5941. Denver office: 721 19th St. Suite 150, Denver, CO 80202, 303-391-5777. Website:

State government

Gov. Jared Polis — State Capitol Building, Room 136, 200 E. Colfax, Denver, CO 80203; 303-866-2471. Website:

State Sen. Kerry Donovan, District 5 — State Capitol Building, 200 E. Colfax, Room 338 A, Denver, CO 80203; 303-866-4871. Email address: Website:

State Rep. Ron Hanks, District 60 — State Capitol Building, 200 E. Colfax, Room 307, Denver, CO 80203; 303-866-2747. Email address: Website:

Local government


City council meets at 6 p.m. on the first and third Tuesday of each month, in council chambers, 448 E. First St. Visit for more city information.

City council members

Dan Shore, Ward 1 719-221-6384

Jane Templeton, Ward 1 719-539-4618

Mike Pollack, Ward 2 719-207-0019

Justin Critelli, Ward 2 N/A

Alisa Pappenfort, Ward 3 719-221-2911

Harald Kasper, Ward 3 719-221-5259

P.T. Wood, mayor 719-530-2624


Chaffee County commissioners meet at 9 a.m. on the first and second Tuesdays of each month at the Chaffee County Courthouse, 104 Crestone Ave., Salida. On the third Tuesday of each month, the meeting is held at the Buena Vista school district meeting room in Buena Vista. Visit for more county information.

County commissioners

Keith Baker, District 1,

Greg Felt, District 2,

Rusty Granzella, District 3,

County administrator’s office – 539-2218


School board meets at 6 p.m. on the second Tuesday of each month in the Kesner Building. Visit for more school information.

School board members

Carrie Mattix 719-530-5406

Jodi Breckenridge Petit 719-530-5406

Cheri Post 719-530-5406

Joe Smith 719-530-5406

Greg Reed 719-530-5406

Jeannie Peters 719-530-5406

Joel McBride 719-530-5406

School Administration

Supt. David Blackburn — 719-530-5203

Salida High School Principal Tami Thompson — 719-530-5400

Salida Middle School Principal William Wooddell — 719-530-5304

Longfellow Elementary School Principal Charles McKenna — 719-530-5260

If you're interested in submitting a Letter to the Editor, click here.

Latest e-Edition